Roane County Schools

  • Home
  • Schools
  • Board
  • People
  • Resources
  • Directory
  • Glenville State, Roane County kick off Home Grown initiative

    The WV State Senate, GSC President Dr. Tracy Pellet and staff, and county superintendents

    Glenville State College, historically central West Virginia's home for teacher education, signed a memorandum of understanding with Roane County Schools and 12 other county school systems in West Virginia to kick off their "Home Grown" teacher training initiative at the West Virginia State Capitol on Thursday. Under this program, students from participating counties who attend Glenville State College and train to become teachers of math, science, or special education may receive a "full ride" through a combination of scholarships and grants. GSC and the counties hope that by giving potential teachers treatment usually reserved for star athletes, including enhanced mentoring and supports, more teachers will choose to stay close to home and address WV's growing teacher shortage problem.

    Pictured here are the West Virginia State Senate, who recognized GSC and the counties with SR 35, Glenville State President Dr. Tracy Pellet and staff, and county superintendents.

    Roane County Schools Seeking Proposals for Auditorium Sound and Lighting at Roane County High School

    Roane County Schools logo

    Roane County Schools is seeking proposals from qualified bidders for upgraded sound and lighting equipment for the auditorium located at Roane County High School. The proposal should include all equipment, installation and training required to provide a ‘turn-key’ system that is operable upon completion.

    For more information, see the RFP.

    Voters Approve School Bond

    November 2018 bond call

    Roane County voters approved our school bond to fund over $9.5 million in facilities improvement across the county. This is the first school levy approved by Roane County voters since the previous school bond in 1994.

    You can read more about the school bond and its projects at You can also read more in the Times-Record / Roane County Reporter or the Parkersburg News and Sentinel.

    Coon recognized as Roane County Teacher of the Year

    Alicia Coon, husband Rodney (left), and State Superintendent Dr. Steve Paine (right)

    Spencer Middle School's Alicia Coon (5th grade) was recognized as Roane County Teacher of the Year during the 2019 West Virginia Teacher of the Year Gala at the Embassy Suites in Charleston, WV. Coon received a plaque, courtesy of the West Virginia Department of Education, as well as gifts from sponsors Coca-Cola, West Virginia Lottery, and more.

    The West Virginia Teacher of the Year program began in 1964, and recognizes 53 county teachers of the year, plus a teacher of the year from the West Virginia Schools for the Deaf and Blind and Multi-County CTE Centers. Jada Reeves from Bradley Elementary School in Raleigh County was named West Virginia's 2018-19 Teacher of the Year at the event.